2019 MTV Video Music Awards


Getty Images

Laghima Pandey

The 2019 MTV Video Music Awards was held on August 26, 2019, at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey, the first time the VMA ceremony was held in New Jersey.

(Photo: Dimitrios Kambouris/VMN19/Getty Image for MTV)

Sebastian Maniscalco, an American stand-up comedian and actor, hosted the 36th annual ceremony. His most recent tour, titled Stay Hungry, is now available as a Netflix special – but he’s also appeared in movies like this year’s Best Picture winner, Green Book. “As soon as they announce the VMAs, three million teenagers are gonna search ‘who the hell is Sebastian Maniscalco?'” the host joked with Jimmy Fallon last month as he confirmed that he was hosting the ceremony. “We’re thrilled to have the incredibly talented Sebastian Maniscalco as this year’s VMA host,” VMAs producer Bruce Gillmer said in a statement when the announcement was made. “Sebastian is on fire right now and his comedic spin on relatable topics will make this year’s show truly unforgettable.”


Taylor Swift opened the show with a performance of “Lover” and “You Need to Calm Down,” both off her recent album Lover. Swift was up for ten awards, tying with Ariana Grande for the most total nominations. Lil Nas X, Miley Cyrus, and Lizzo were among the performers. In addition, following public speculation over the degree of their relationship, Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello took the stage to perform their duet, “Señorita,” live. “The reception to ‘Señorita,’ it’s been so cool to see. Especially because this song was eight months in the making,” she told Variety. “Shawn texted me the idea for the song, and he was like, ‘Oh my god, this is amazing that you want to do it,'” she continued. “Finally we were just like, ‘You know what, no pressure, let’s just go to the studio and try to finalize it and see how we feel about it’… and then two weeks later we made the music video.”

The list of presenters include Billy Ray Cyrus, Lenny Kravitz, Salt-N-Pepa, French Montana, Keke Palmer, Hailee Steinfeld, NHL athlete P.K. Subban, and members of the U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team, Alex Morgan, Ali Krieger, and Ashlyn Harris.

MTV also announced the introduction of a new award: the MTV Fashion Trailblazer Award, which was given to Marc Jacobs for his “indelible impact within the world of musical artist fashion,” and for having dressed pop stars, such as Missy Elliott, Cher, Cardi B, and Lady Gaga.

(Photo: Donald Traill/Invision/AP)

Ariana Grande, Taylor Swift, and Billie Eilish were the most awarded artists of the night, each winning three awards. Missy Elliott became the first female rapper to win the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award. This award is presented to music performers for their accomplishments in music and film; because of its special acclaim, the award is usually gold-plated rather than the silver plating of the regular “Moonman/Moonperson” trophy.



The list of winners are as follows:

Video Of The Year: Taylor Swift – “You Need to Calm Down” 

Artist Of The Year: Ariana Grande

Song Of The Year: “Old Town Road (Remix)” – Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus

Best New Artist: Billie Eilish 

Best Collaboration: Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello – “Señorita”

Push Artist Of The Year: Billie Eilish 

Best Pop: Jonas Brothers – “Sucker” 

Best Hip Hop: Cardi B – “Money” 

Best R&B: Normani ft. 6lack – “Waves” 

Best K-Pop: BTS ft. Halsey – “Boy With Luv” 

Best Latin: ROSALÍA & J Balvin ft. El Guincho – “Con Altura” 

Best Dance: The Chainsmokers ft. Bebe Rexha – “Call You Mine” 

Best Rock: Panic! At The Disco – “High Hopes”

Video For Good: Taylor Swift – “You Need to Calm Down” 

Best Direction: Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus – “Old Town Road (Remix)” – Directed by Calmatic​ 

Best Visual Effects: Taylor Swift ft. Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco – “ME!” – Visual Effects by Loris Paillier & Lucas Salton

Best Editing: Billie Eilish – “Bad Guy” – Editing by Billie Eilish 

Best Art Direction: Ariana Grande – “7 Rings” – Art Direction by John Richoux​ 

Best Choreography: ROSALÍA & J Balvin ft. El Guincho – “Con Altura” – Choreography by Charm La’Donna​ 

Best Cinematography : Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello – “Señorita” – Cinematography by Scott Cunningham

Best Group Nominees: BTS 

Best Power Anthems: Megan Thee Stallion ft. Nicki Minaj & Ty Dolla $ign “Hot Girl Summer” 

Song Of The Summer: Ariana Grande & Social House – “boyfriend” 

Video Vanguard: Missy Elliott